Need Clarification Regarding Switch Strike

So, I'm confused. I'm a beginner that started 5days ago. Im already lvl 60. I forgot to check my skill tree and my SP has been piling up. I didn't take any +stat increase skills coz i prefer the percentage type. Ratios are better than base dmg in late game.. then i saw this "SWITCH STRIKE" skill that says it makes jetboots deal Melee dmg rather than the default Tec dmg.

Now, my question is, when it says "Deal melee dmg", will it just convert all the dmg dealt to MELEE dmg, or will it MAKE THE DMG SCALING of jetboots rely on melee rather than Tec? If its the second Choice, then will the jetboots additional TEC dmg be wasted or will it also be converted to Melee dmg?

Jet Boots will always cause Melee Damage with their Attacks and PAs. What Switch Strike does is make them use MEL-Pwr instead of TEC-Pwr for Damage Calculations. None of the TEC-Pwr gets converted into MEL-Pwr.

Basically, it is used when you have higher total MEL-Pwr than total TEC-Pwr (as seen in your Character Stats screen). The real benefit to it is if you are using both Jet Boots and Soaring Blades since that means that you can focus on adding MEL-Pwr Augments to your Units instead of trying to have both MEL- and TEC-Pwr Augments.

If you are only using Jet Boots and are using TEC-Pwr Augments, you don't need Switch Strike.

@AndrlCh I've been wondering about that skill myself. Is it of any use to a build focusing as exclusively as possible on DEX rather than MEL or TEC? Just as a hypothetical example (no idea what the actual stats on the character are right now), say I have 700 MEL, 500 TEC, and 1200 Dex: As I understand it the Jet Boots would be getting 1700 PWR. Would Strike Switch drop that down to just 700 (relying solely on MEL) or would it swap out just the TEC stat, still use DEX, and bring it up to 1900 overall PWR?