There's an issue with the "Remove Uploaded Image" button, where in it will remove the previous image, revert to Default Image, and allow you to upload a new image.

After that, you select Crop and Upload.

After Saving Changes or pressing the Account data Save button, the Uploaded image will revert forum mechanics to the previous image, and will not upload your new image.