Hunter main with Force or Techer sub

Is it worth it?

It's not worth it.

I personally wouldn't, techter is best with hunter as the subclass. Hunter has enough ways to heal from automated to healing shield that they don't necessarily need to have magic.

Technique. Only Ali** uses magic in PSO2.

I'm pretty new to the game, so I can't say how good the Hu/Fo is for sure, but I'm finding the versatility of the combination to be crazy awesome, particularly specializing in fire so I can the fast charging fire techniques. I'm going into a Fury Stand with Wired Lances, so I can mix up fast attacks with (hopefully) Perfect attacks going on then blast off some fire spells while I'm in there with a maxed out fast charge.

@Frathlir If you want to use Techs as a Hunter, then your best option is Summoner for a sub. Not only does it allow you to use Techs, but it also has general damage multipliers that boost both your Melee and Techs (the former which Force has no multipliers for, and the latter which are worse on Force as a sub), and gives you access to very potent Stat-Up Skills (+150HP, +200 All-Pwr, +200 All-Def). Additionally, you can still use Flame Tech Short Charge since it is available as a Right Ring.

Use summoner as a subclass if you need access to support techs for Hunter. Force and Techther do not have skills that mesh well with Hunter.

If you want to cast techs for damage, then Hunter main won't do you good at all. Might want to consider just actually playing a tech class or consider something like Techter/Fighter or Techter/Summoner.

I took a look at the trees for Techer and Summoner. The overall boost to the TEC skills seems to be much more significant with Force than the other two. If I was going more melee, those two would definitely make sense as they boost my MEL more than Hunter would alone.