I prefer to have my Inventory and Storage in Grid view: alt text

However, every so often it will revert to the default List view without me ever touching the Change Display Mode button: alt text

There has been no rhyme or reason to it happening; it can stay in Grid view for several sessions and then revert to List, or it can revert to List from one session to the next.