New player help

Re: New Recruits! Have a question? Post it here!

Absolute noob day 1 here. Just starting out and the game is mind boggling any tips for beginners?

https://pso2.com/news/announcements/ARKStrainingcamp

This is a good series of videos to get you started. Apart from that take it slow, have fun, and try to find an alliance or group that willing to help new players

@DdotSpeed8812 Welcome to the game! Being overwhelmed at the start is completely normal and I agree with Ten Square about taking it slow/not trying to learn everything at once.

The biggest pitfalls to avoid early on are feeding your "Mag" the wrong stuff and investing in the wrong skills on your "Skill Tree" as these can be costly to fix later.

• Your Mag will be a small companion that floats over your shoulder and you'll unlock it fairly early in the game. These little guys can serve a few functions, but the one to mindful of from Day 1 is that they'll grant you flat stat buffs based on what you feed them. Unfortunately, decreasing a stat later is a tedious/costly process so it's best to follow a mag feeding guide from the start. Generally, people advise investing purely in 1 damage scaling stat depending on the class you play (e.g. 200 levels in only Melee damage if your class mainly uses melee weapons). To learn how to do this efficiently I'd suggest looking at this thread as well as this thread.